[ Line ]


Joint Meritorious Unit Award

Authorized by the Secretary of Defense on June 10, 1981, this award was originally called the Department of Defense Meritorious Unit Award. It is awarded in the name of the Secretary of Defense to Joint Activities (all services) for meritorious achievement or service, superior to that which is normally expected, for actions in the following situations: combat with an armed enemy of the United States, or during a declared national emergency, or under extraordinary circumstances that involve national interests.

04-Mar-1991  to  05-Apr-1991

[ Line ]


Navy Meritorious Unit Commendation

Authorized by SECNAVNOTE 1650, on July 17, 1967, and awarded by the Secretary to any unit of the US Navy or Marine Corps which distinguished itself by either valorous or meritorious achievement considered outstanding when compared to other units performing similar service, but not sufficient to justify award of the Navy Unit Commendation. Awarded for combat or non-combat services.

08-Mar-1981  to  09-Apr-1981

10-Jul-1985  to 11-Sep-1985

[ Line ]


Navy "E" Ribbon

A Secretary of the Navy recommendation in June of 1976 established this award to replace the Battle Efficiency Award (the letter "E") which had been worn sewn to the sleeve of the uniform. It is authorized to be worn by all crew members of ships and aviation squadrons winning the fleet-wide eighteen month competitive cycle which has exercises testing all phases of battle readiness. The Battle Efficiency Award, called the Navy Battle "E", in addition to the ribbon, consists of a cloth insignia and a battle pennant to be displayed by the ship or unit winning the award

01-Apr-1988  to  30-Sep-1989

01-Jan-1993  to  31-Dec-1993

01-Jan-1993  to  31-Dec-1993

[ Line ]


National Defense Service Medal

Authorized on April 22, 1953 and amended on January 11, 1966, this medal was awarded for honorable active military service as a member of the United States Armed Forces, including the Coast Guard, between June 27, 1950 and July 27, 1954 (Korean War period) and between January 1, 1961 and August 14, 1974, (Vietnam War Period). It has most recently been awarded to active duty military members for service during the Persian Gulf War period.


[ Line ]


Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal

Authorized on December 4, 1961, and awarded to members of the Armed Forces of the United States who, after July 1, 1958 participated in US military operations, US operations in direct support of the United Nations, or US operations of assistance for friendly or foreign nations or in danger from hostile actions.

16-Sep-1988  to  16-Jan-1989  code R

[ Line ]


Sea Service Deployment Ribbon

This award was approved by the Secretary of the Navy on May 22, 1980. It recognizes the unique and demanding nature of sea service and the arduous duty attendant with such service deployments. The award of the ribbon was made retroactive to August 15 1974. It is presented to officers and enlisted personnel of the US Navy and Marine Corps assigned to US homeported ships and overseas ships, deploying units, or Fleet Marine Force (FMF) commands, for 12 months accumulated sea duty, or duty with FMF, which includes at least one 90 consecutive day deployment. Sailors can now earn the award after completing two 80-day or longer deployments in a 12-month period. This change applies to deployments commencing on or after Oct 18, 1991.


[ Line ]


Coast Guard Special Operations Service Ribbon



Authorized by the Commandant of the Coast Guard on 01 July, 1987, the Special Operations Service ribbon is awarded to members of the U.S. Armed Forces, serving in any capacity with the Coast Guard (and other individuals who participate in a special operation of the Coast Guard), not involving combat, after 01 July, 1987, and when that operation is not recognized by another award.


[ Line ]


Vietnam Service Medal

Authorized on July 19, 1965 and awarded to all service members of the Armed Forces of the United States who, between July 4, 1965 and March 28, 1973, served in Vietnam and the contiguous waters, and airspace, in Thailand, Laos or Cambodia or airspace in direct support of military operations in Vietnam. Personnel previously awarded the Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal for services between July 1958 and July 1963 could exchange these medals for the Vietnam Service Medal.


09-Apr-1970  to  06-May-1970

26-May-1970  to  26-Jun-1970

15-Jul-1970  to  08-Aug-1970

27-Aug-1970  to  08-Sep-1970

[ Line ]


Republic of Vietnam Campaign Medal


Awarded to members of the Armed Forces of the United States who have served for a six-month period in Vietnam, its surrounding waters or in air support against an armed enemy in Vietnam between March 1, 1961 and March 28, 1973. The time limit is waived if the recipient was killed, wounded or captured at any time before the limit.



[ Line ]

Armed Forces Service Medal



President Clinton signed an executive order authorizing the Armed Forces Service Medal. The medal will go to service members participating in peaceful U.S. military operations on or after June 1, 1992. Under the guidelines, the Joint Chiefs of Staff will decide which operations are eligible for the award. Service members receiving the award must not face foreign armed opposition or imminent hostile action. All military service members, including U.S. Coast Guard personnel, may receive the award. The Armed Forces Service Medal covers operations not covered by other U.S. service medals. DOD will not give the award to service members already eligible for other awards. For example, personnel receiving the Southwest Asia Service Medal or Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal for service in the Arabian Gulf are not eligible for the new medal. Service members who qualify for the Humanitarian Service Medal will not qualify for the award. Service members may receive the medal once. Suitable devices, such as numerals or oak leaf clusters, will indicate subsequent awards. Service members in single-service operations may receive the medal provided no other suitable award is available.

Secretary of Defense Perry has approved for awarding the Armed Forces Service Medal to members of the U.S. armed forces who, after June 1, 1992:

  • Participate, or have participated, as members of U.S. military units, in a U.S. military operation considered a significant activity; and
  • Encounter no foreign armed opposition or imminent threat of hostile action.
  • Participate in operations relating to the former Republic of Yugoslavia from June 1, 1992, through a future date to be determined. Operations include Provide Promise, Joint Endeavor, Able Sentry, Deny Flight, Maritime Monitor and Sharp Guard within the total land area and air space of the former Republic of Yugoslavia, Aviano, Ancona, Brindisi, Italy, Hungary and the waters and air space above the portion of the Adriatic Sea lying north of forty degrees north latitude.

[ Line ]

NATO Service Medal


Awarded: For 30 days service with NATO forces in the Former Yugoslavia

While in the Adriatic Sea as part of the former Republic of Yugoslavia Operations:
  Provide Promise, Deny Flight, and Sharp Guard.